CB Paint soon???

Motion effects, video paint and graphics package

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby jeffphilips » Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:05 pm

I don't think it was well promoted. I do not have it, but now seeing what it can do, I would love to have it!
Jeff Philips
In Focus Studios
Raleigh/Durham
North Carolina
Cassie user since 1999
jeffphilips
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:31 pm
Location: North Carolina
Casablanca Unit: Renomee Plus, SE 7

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby TimKennelly » Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:51 pm

Jeff,

They gave it away with every Solitaire at one time, I am not sure how much more promoted than that it could get.

The simple fact is the software was far more expensive and complex than the target users of the Cassie line were interested in and it was never popular.

The percentage that actually paid for the software had to be considerably less than one percent of the user base.

CB Paint was a third party developed software by TV Paint.

MS does not have any true control or leverage to make TV Paint rewrite the software to work on the Linux based Bogart OS.

For TV Paint to invest the manpower to do that they would have to envision a way to make it a profitable undertaking.

I don't see any way that is feasible, so I would not hold out any hope you will ever see this software available for the Bogart OS.

Sorry to be a downer to those few of you who have enthusiastically supported and championed the software, but I'd say the only way to use this software is to own one of the higher end Smart Edit units that it does work on or buy it in it's TV Paint's Mirage or TVP Animation Pro manifestations. :(

Be clear, I do not work for MS or MSUS so this is not a official policy statement, but it's a clear statement from an astute user and business owner.
Last edited by TimKennelly on Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My mom always told me that happiness was the key to life.
At school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.
I said “happy" and they told me I didn’t understand the question.
I told them they didn’t understand life.


Tim Kennelly
TimKennelly
 
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:40 pm
Location: Clio, MI 48420
Casablanca Unit: No Casablanca unit currently.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby jeffphilips » Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:15 pm

Exactly what I mean, I never knew it came with the Solitaire. Not promoted very well. I visit the site and forum at least once a month. I do not recall seeing the CB offered with the Solitaire. Oh well, maybe it was an over-site by me.
If MS wants to be considered a professional NLE system, used by mainstream editors, they need to have software like CB. Otherwise, they will continue to be labeled as having a amateur editing system.
Jeff Philips
In Focus Studios
Raleigh/Durham
North Carolina
Cassie user since 1999
jeffphilips
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:31 pm
Location: North Carolina
Casablanca Unit: Renomee Plus, SE 7

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby PaulBusta » Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:59 pm

That I know of, only two of MS's programs are 16 bit, all the others are 8 bit. At that rate they will never be considered a professional system. But on the bright side it is an easy system to use.
Paul Busta

P.A.B. Digital Video Productions
S4000Pro & Bogart V2.1e OS with much software.
Casablanca user since 1997.
PaulBusta
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:52 am
Location: Roseville, MN
Casablanca Unit: S4000Pro & Bogart V2.1e OS, with much software.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby TimKennelly » Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:26 pm

Frankly, I don't think that is their intended target customer, Jeff.

And never was.

Their tagline has mostly been "simplicity in a box", for the most part.
My mom always told me that happiness was the key to life.
At school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.
I said “happy" and they told me I didn’t understand the question.
I told them they didn’t understand life.


Tim Kennelly
TimKennelly
 
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:40 pm
Location: Clio, MI 48420
Casablanca Unit: No Casablanca unit currently.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby Alan » Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:50 am

As far as I can remember CBPaint was introduced to refute the idea that it was not professional. There are plenty of small business' that do use it, but I do take your point. My impression from the TVPaint forum is that they would be quite willing to do the conversion to CBPaint; it is up to Macro System to start the ball rolling. As I said before, all I want is a clear statement from them, so far they have not said no. (I think it still says coming soon on the product list)

If you don't ask you don't get. So lets keep asking.

Alan.
Alan
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:52 am
Casablanca Unit: S 4000 Pro. Cannon XH A1. Cannon XL2. Cannon XM1.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby LouBruno » Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:23 pm

I agree with Alan here. When I finally got a "handle' using CB PAINT, I was producing effects that were almost equivalent to AFTER EFFECTS. The software indeed brought the Macrosystem editing systems to a higher plateau at the time. I was able to cut out MOVING objects (rototracking) as well as other style effects that can be seen on my YOU TUBE and GOOGLE VIDEO account.



http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=M ... AINT&emb=0

SCROLL DOWN TILL YOU SEE THE$ MARCH GET-TOGETHER....there are other CB PAINT postings on GOOGLE VIDEO. Place CB PAINT in the search engine.
LOU BRUNO

Gocycle@optonline.net
LouBruno
 
Posts: 5199
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: Long Island New York
Casablanca Unit: KARAT, STUDIO ULTRA and the S6000 with Blu-ray with ALL SOFTWARE, Cassie Travel Laptop PRO- Bogart Windows, MSI APACHE PROGE72VR laptop with BOGART and all Current BOGART & Arabesk. GLIDECAM HD-2000, THE FLIP MINO personal HD web-style cameras-Gen 3, Two I-Pods 4G/HD recording, I-Pad 4,

SONY PXW-X70 AVCHD and XAVC 50Mb. SONY FDR-53 4K, SONY HXR-HMC2500
, SONY FDR AX-700 HDR 4K video camera, GoPro HD2&3, SONY HDR-CX150 small HD pocket camera, Two Samsung BD D5700 Blu-ray players.
TWO SONY HDV decks, JVC DT-V20L1 HDV monitor, All Music2Hues and Digital Hotcakes, Nikon D-80 still camera, NIKON D7100 HDSLR 18-300mm lens, 7 professional bicycles, two camels and a donkey :-) ........ Gocycle@optonline.net

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby TimKennelly » Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:46 pm

Oh, I am not arguing the worth of the software, just the financial likelihood that you are going to see TV Paint be willing to put their money (manpower) into it.
My mom always told me that happiness was the key to life.
At school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.
I said “happy" and they told me I didn’t understand the question.
I told them they didn’t understand life.


Tim Kennelly
TimKennelly
 
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:40 pm
Location: Clio, MI 48420
Casablanca Unit: No Casablanca unit currently.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby Alan » Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:15 am

Surely its Macro System that would be paying? You are all so pessimistic (and may be right) keep on asking till the answer is no.

Alan. In the UK, here its a lovely Autumn day, cool and sunny.
Alan
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:52 am
Casablanca Unit: S 4000 Pro. Cannon XH A1. Cannon XL2. Cannon XM1.

Re: CB Paint soon???

Postby PaulBusta » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:13 am

Sounds like CB Paint is a 16 bit program, is there a way to find out for sure?
Paul Busta

P.A.B. Digital Video Productions
S4000Pro & Bogart V2.1e OS with much software.
Casablanca user since 1997.
PaulBusta
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:52 am
Location: Roseville, MN
Casablanca Unit: S4000Pro & Bogart V2.1e OS, with much software.

PreviousNext

Return to CB Paint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron