Page 2 of 2

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 4:20 am
by Alan
Hi Lou and Hans,

Using a USB Flash Drive:

Export via the OPT button of 1920 x 1080 .avi file will not import to TVP. Neither will it import to Vegas Video.

TVP goes through the motions as seeing it as a an acceptable file then fails to open it.

Vegas says file could not be opened.

The same result occurs with a DV file. This will not play in the Windows player. What can this OPT export function be used for?

Does anyone know what codecs are used by Cassi? would it be possible to load usable codecs into Cassi For the OPT function? Have you tried using Media Manager?

I certainly would like a quick and easy way of linking Cassi to TVP, it should be possible. I have TVP 9.5. I bought the cut down version of Vegas so I could make reliable BlueRay discs and found it was the way to get files to and from Cassi.

Alan



Alan

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:17 am
by HansJoachimKoenig
Hi Alan,

many thanks again for your testing if Casa AVI-file would be accepted
for inputting to TVPaint.
I don't need a Bluray-Player since I save my finished HD-Projects on harddrives.
Project films are played via WD-Player and HDMI-Cable connected to a full HD-TV.
For saving of HD-Projects I used "Storyboard save-->HDV", Storyboard save-->MTS,
but since Bogart 4.x it is also possible to save scenes via the "Opt" function.
This saving method is far faster and needs no rendering.
And also plays fine in HD quality.
Maybe it is possible importing the Casa AVI-files to the new TVPaint 10?
I will maybe try this with the test version of TVPaint10

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:01 pm
by Volker
This saving method is far faster and needs no rendering


Hello Hans,
of course, the Opt function needs rendering time as well (maybe your Cassie is so fast that you don't notice this process) :D

All the best,
Volker

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:15 am
by LouBruno
The rendering is a little faster than real time. Some report the AVI files are not up to par. I can report that I simply place the USB stick into the USB port of my Samsung HDTVs and looks great.

But back to the topic:


I want my CB PAINT back in BOGART!!!

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:37 am
by Alan
Hi Lou,

Sorry to be so late in replying. File export via the Opt button does not import to TVP. It goes through the hour glass ritual but nothing is loaded. Do you know what this file format is, is it for U tube?

Alan.

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:05 pm
by LouBruno
It is an AVI wrapper containing Mpeg-4 or MP-4. Not really clear on this as it is reported as such by German beta testers. Can you convert the AVI file to another codec via many of the free codec conversion softwares or maybe contact TV PAINT support and they can advise us which codec works best. Just a thought.

Alan wrote:Hi Lou,

Sorry to be so late in replying. File export via the Opt button does not import to TVP. It goes through the hour glass ritual but nothing is loaded. Do you know what this file format is, is it for U tube?

Alan.

Re: CB Paint Forum on TV Paint website

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:10 am
by Alan
Hi Lou,

I've just posted this on the TVPaint forum to Dieter.

I am now able to transfer easily between Cassi and TVPaint. Fabrice pointed out to me that Quicktime Pro needed to be installed on my computer. This is a purchasable item from the Apple on line shop, it cost me £20. It now works like this:

Export via 'Opt' function in edit screen to USB stick.

This now imports to TVP via the usual New/Import footage command.

Export from TVP via:
Quicktime RGBA pre multi.
Config H.264
25 fps
Key frame every ? Must not be ticked. It will not save if you leave it ticked.
Leave Limit date rate unticked.
Chose quality, I went for highest.

This imports to Cassi via the USB icon in the record screen.
It seems to need Gamma set to -5 to restore the scene to its original appearance. I did not have to do this when I went via Vegas Video.

There is no need to go through Media Manager. I suspect that Quicktime may not work on scenes less than 2sec long. The scene I have experimented on is 15sec long. My files are HD.

I guess that Media Manager is similar to ffdshow and somehow attached to Bogart.

Best regards Alan.